Skip to content

Fall Semester Burnout Already?

September 15, 2013

It’s going to be a long semester. Classes started three weeks ago. My Lord Byron Class is going well except for one thing: the Bible thumpers are on campus. They’re ministers from a local Fundamentalist church. The students either walk past them or they engage them in debate. I heard one of my students yell:

Normal
0

There are four questions of value in life. What is sacred? Of what is the spirit made? What is worth living for and what is worth dying for? The answer to each is the same. Only love.

This got the thumper going.

— Yay-Yus. Jaysus loves you, Yes he does. Now there’s a man who knows his Bible.

“That’s from Lord Byron. He *beeped*his sister.”

— Abomination! Abomination! Satan’s Spawn Thou Art! There is but one Lord, and his name is Jay-sus, not Brian.

It was turning ugly, so I walked on.

It’s sort of strange that a few years ago, some free speech advocates were denied access to the campus, just like the Conceal and Carry gun nuts were. I can see why the C&C people were told to leave. They’d probably shoot the Bible thumpers, one of the few sources of entertainment this campus offers. The free speech advocates? Lord knows why they were chased off campus.

The Neutral Gender Housing proposal was shot down during the summer. I’m surprised. We talked about that in the Lord Byron class. One girl said, “I’d pretend to swing the other way and grow a beard and my boyfriend would be happy to wear one of my brassieres if we could share a dormitory room.”

Now I know why the Neutral Housing proposal was shot down. My college years are coming back to me; where there’s a will, there’s ALWAYS a way.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

